Cipriani named in England Saxons squad

Danny Cipriani and Jose Mourinho

Danny Cipriani and Jose Mourinho, who is expected to be named as Manchester United manager this week, were both among the celebrities watching David Haye fight at the O2 Arena on Saturday

Danny Cipriani is one of seven full-capped England players selected for the Saxons’ tour to South Africa in June.

The new Wasps signing joins future club-mate Christian Wade, Gloucester’s Matt Kvesic, Northampton’s Luther Burrell and Kieran Brookes, and Bath’s Dave Attwood and Semesa Rokoduguni.

They are part of a 27-man squad for two games against South Africa A.

“The squad has a good mixture of experienced players and emerging talent,” head coach Ali Hepher said.

“It is an incredibly exciting opportunity for the players and management to prove themselves. The series is an important stepping stone towards international honours.”

Exeter assistant coach Hepher will be assisted by Alan Dickens (Northampton Saints) and Andy Titterrell (Wasps) for the two games in Bloemfontein on 10 June and Outeniqua Park in George on 17 June.

No place in the main tour squad

The squad announcement comes a day after Cipriani failed to gain a place in the full 32-man squad picked to go to Australia to play three Tests.

The 28-year-old, who won the most recent of his 14 caps in August 2015, missed out to Saracens’ Owen Farrell and Bath’s George Ford for a place at the Rugby World Cup in the autumn under Stuart Lancaster.

But he was part of head coach Eddie Jones’ England squad training session in Brighton last week, showing that Cipriani – one of six Wasps players in the Saxons squad – is still part of the long-term thinking.

With Saracens and Exeter players involved in Saturday’s Premiership final, Jones needed to supplement his squad for Sunday’s friendly against Wales at Twickenham.

Several of the Saxons squad – Attwood, Kvesic, Burrell, Wasps forward Tommy Taylor and Bath centre Oliver Devoto – will plug the gaps.

Capped players in the Saxons party

Bath: Dave Attwood (22 caps), Semesa Rokoduguni (1 cap)

Gloucester: Matt Kvesic (2 caps)

Northampton Saints: Kieran Brookes (16 caps), Luther Burrell (13 caps)

Wasps: Danny Cipriani (14 caps), Christian Wade (1 cap)

The full Saxons squad


Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Tommy Taylor (Wasps), George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons), Jake Cooper-Woolley (Wasps), Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints), James Craig (Northampton Saints), Mitch Lees (Exeter Chiefs), Charlie Ewels (Bath), Dave Attwood (Bath), Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs), Donovan Armand (Exeter Chiefs), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester), James Chisholm (Harlequins), Sam Jones (Wasps).


Dan Robson (Wasps), Michael Young (Newcastle Falcons), Oliver Devoto (Bath), Danny Cipriani (Wasps), Christian Wade (Wasps), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Nick Tompkins (Saracens), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Alex Lewington (London Irish), Sam James (Sale Sharks), Mike Haley (Sale Sharks).


Head coach: Ali Hepher (Exeter Chiefs)

Assistant coach: Andy Titterrell (Wasps)

Assistant coach: Alan Dickens (Northampton Saints)

Team manager: Richard Hill

comments powered by Disqus