US House Speaker Ryan ‘can’t back Trump’

Paul Ryan speaks from the Congressional podiumImage copyright
Getty Images

Image caption

Speaker of the House Paul Ryan is ‘not ready’ to support his party’s presumptive nominee

US House Speaker Paul Ryan has said he cannot currently support Donald Trump as Republican presidential nominee.

Mr Ryan, the highest-ranked elected Republican, called for Mr Trump to strive for “higher aspirations”.

Mr Trump, he said, “deserved” the nomination but must do more to unite the party.

Former presidents George W Bush and George H W Bush also said Thursday that they will not endorse the controversial presumptive nominee.

“I think what a lot of Republicans want to see is that we have a standard bearer that bears our standards,” Mr Ryan told CNN.

Paul Ryan was the 2012 vice-presidential nominee alongside Mitt Romney.

There has been persistent speculation that Mr Ryan may make a last-minute run for presidency, however he has frequently sought to dispel those claims.

Image copyright

Image caption

Trump says the nay-sayers will come round

Image copyright

Image caption

Trump’s immigration plans have enraged protesters

In December 2015, Mr Ryan harshly criticised Mr Trump’s proposal to ban Muslims from entering the US.

He said it was “not what this party stands for and more importantly it’s not what this country stands for”.

Although several senior Republicans like Mr Romney have voiced their objection to the nominee, Mr Ryan is the highest ranked to do so.

Protests have plagued appearances by Mr Trump, with particular focus on his plan to build a wall on the Mexican border and deport 11 million undocumented immigrants.

Top Republicans divided over Trump


  • New Hampshire Senator Kelly Ayotte
  • Retired neurosurgeon Ben Carson
  • New Jersey Governor Chris Christie
  • Former Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal
  • Senator Majority Leader Mitch McConnell
  • Nevada Governor Brian Sandoval
  • Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker

Not supporting:

  • House Speaker Paul Ryan
  • Former President George H W Bush
  • Former President George W Bush
  • Former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney
  • Nebraska Senator Ben Sasse

Yet to comment:

  • Former Florida Governor Jeb Bush
  • Texas Senator Ted Cruz
  • Ohio Governor John Kasich
  • Florida Senator Marco Rubio

comments powered by Disqus