Quintana wins Volta a Catalunya

Nairo Quintana

Nairo Quintana was second to Chris Froome at last year’s Tour de France

Colombia’s Nairo Quintana won the Volta a Catalunya after Alexey Tsatevich took the final stage around Montjuic in Barcelona on Sunday.

Movistar rider Quintana moved into the lead at the end of the fourth stage and never looked like losing it after that.

He finished seven seconds ahead of Spain’s Alberto Contador (Tinkoff), with Ireland’s Dan Martin (Etixx) 17 seconds off the pace in third.

Britain’s Chris Froome (Team Sky) was 46 seconds back in eighth.

Final Classification

1. Nairo Quintana (Colombia / Movistar) 30:50:19″

2. Alberto Contador (Spain / Tinkoff) +7″

3. Daniel Martin (Ireland / Etixx – Quick-Step) +17″

4. Richie Porte (Australia / BMC Racing)

5. Tejay van Garderen (U.S. / BMC Racing) +27″

6. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R) +31″

7. Ilnur Zakarin (Russia / Katusha) +42″

8. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) +46″

9. Hugh Carthy (Britain / Caja Rural) +1:01″

10. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Cannondale) +1:16″

comments powered by Disqus