Weir starts for Scotland in Ireland

Duncan Weir in action for Glasgow Warriors

Duncan Weir has yet to start in the Six Nations this season

Scotland coach Vern Cotter has made three changes to his starting line-up for their final game of the Six Nations campaign against Ireland.

Glasgow Warriors fly-half Duncan Weir will make his first start of the Championship in place of injured club-mate Finn Russell.

Lock Tim Swinson also benefits from an injury, replacing Jonny Gray.

Ryan Wilson starts at number eight in place of Josh Strauss – who moves to the bench.

He is joined among the replacements by Rob Harley, who will provide second-row cover as well as at blind-side, and another Warrior in scrum-half Henry Pyrgos, who takes over from Sam Hidalgo-Clyne.

Pyrgos has recently returned to action after an operation on his wrist after last autumn’s World Cup.

His inclusion means there are 11 Glasgow players in the match-day 23.

Weir, who will move from the Warriors to Edinburgh at the end of the season, last started a Test against South Africa during the World Cup.

He appeared as a replacement in Scotland’s second Six Nations match this year against Wales in Cardiff, but was left out of the 23 for the wins over Italy and France, turning in two man-of-the-match displays for Glasgow instead.

“We were pleased with our sustained effort against France,” said Cotter.

“The challenge for us now is to keep constructing our game and enjoy the last coming together of the championship in a Scotland jersey, against an Ireland team full of confidence after a convincing win over Italy.”

Scotland have only won once – in 2010 – in Dublin in eight attempts in the Six Nations era, and only scored four tries in their last 10 Tests against the Irish over the past decade.

Scotland line-up:

Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Visser (Harlequins), Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (captain – Gloucester), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), WP Nel (Edinburgh), Richie Gray (Castres), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), John Barclay (Scarlets), John Hardie (Edinburgh), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)

Replacements: Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh), Moray Low (Exeter Chiefs), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors).

comments powered by Disqus