Dawson in England World T20 squad

Liam Dawson

Liam Dawson has taken 39 Twenty20 wickets in 73 matches for Hampshire

Uncapped all-rounder Liam Dawson has been included in England’s squad for the World Twenty20 in India next month.

Seamer Stuart Broad and all-rounder Chris Woakes have been left out but Steven Finn has been selected, despite suffering from a side strain.

Kevin Pietersen’s form in the Australian Big Bash competition has not earned him selection, despite calls for him to be included.

England’s first match is against the West Indies on 16 March.

They also face South Africa and Sri Lanka in Group One, as well as a first-round qualifier from Scotland, Zimbabwe, Afghanistanand Hong Kong.

Former Sri Lanka batsman Mahela Jayawardene will be part of the coaching team for the first 10 days of the tournament, and former England T20 captain Paul Collingwood will work with the team for the duration.

More to follow.

Full squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (capt),Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Reece Topley (Hampshire), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire).

Have you added the new Top Story alerts in the BBC Sport app? Simply head to the menu in the app – and don’t forget you can also add alerts for the Six Nations, cricket scores, your football team and more.

comments powered by Disqus